Table tennis: Title holders start in style

Share this article

Reigning Horsham and Crawley League Champions Foresters A stamped their authority on the new season in style last week with a 7-2 defeat of Crawley Community E in the first round of fixtures.

Adam Todd and JC opened with a maximum three points each for the champions, while Premier League debutant Sai Man Yau claimed a notable scalp against the experienced Mike Robinson.

Elsewhere, Foresters C were also emphatic winners against Horsham E, as Chris Vincent recorded the only Horsham victories. Phil Nicholls won a maximum three points for Foresters while Matt Craig and Glyn Hydes added two each.

Six matches went the distance as Horsham C beat Trinity A 5-4. Highlights included a five stter between Graham Beaney and Colin Jones, and Joe Comper’s tense win against Jones. Ben Dewsbury and Michael Bridger picked up one each.

Nick Smith and Steve Haod both claimed maximum points as Horsham D thumped Foresters D 8-1 - Adam Daley with the Foresters’ sole point.

Crawley Community A look like a side to beat this year, beating Foresters B 8-1 thanks to maximums from Graham Faulkner and Graham Green - Bipin Majithia lost to anti spin king Dave Steel for Foresters’ lone point.

Juniors Dan Pound and Mark Collins were ably supprted by super vet Tony catt as Horsham B beat the newly formed Horsham Spinners A, for whom Rory Scott proved Mr Dependable with a maximum score.

Full Premier Division results: Horsham E 2-7 Foresters C; Horsham C 5-4 Trinity A; Horsham D 8-1 Foresters; Horsham B 6-3 Horsham Spinners A; Crawley Community B 2-7 Foresters A.