In pictures: Billingshurst and Horsham Park bowls finals

Share this article

Mixed weather over Billingshurst BC finals weekend did not dampen spirits or prevent the programme running to time.

Three of the competitions saw the holders successfully defend their titles.

Billingshurst bowls

Billingshurst bowls

Beryl Barraclough reclaimed the Laker Cup, Geoff Weller the Heritage Trophy and Chris Laker and Anita Colliety defended the Slipper Cup.

The Victor Ludorum Cup for the best overall performance will be awarded when the yardstick competition is played on September 8.

Horsham Park also enjoyed a highly successful Finals Day, with competitive games throughout. Under warm sunshine and in front of many spectators the last game played was the Champion of Champions between the men’s and Ladies captains, with Bob Dominy narrowly beating Angela Spurr.

Horsham Park Finals Day

Mens Singles : Winner Bob Dominy

Runner Up David James

Ladies Singles: Winner Angela Spurr

Runner Up Sylvia English

101 Up Singles : winner Bob Dominy

Runner Up Ron Ansell

Mixed Pairs : Winner Brenda Thompson & Frank Heath

Runner Up Di Langridge & Frank Thomas

Two Wood Singles: Winner Harry Smith Runner Up Bob Dominy

Handicap Singles: Winner Frank Thomas

Runner Up Mike Simmons

Jackson Trophy: Winner Ros Medland

Runner Up Mike Simmons

Mixed Triples: Winner Brian Milner, Angela Spurr, Mike Westgarth

Runner Up David Spurr, Carole Neve, John Leadbeater

Champion of Champions: Winner Bob Dominy Runner Up Angela Spurr

Billingshurst Finals Day

Rayson Cup: Geoff Wellr beat Barry Gilbert 21-14; Win Fautly Trophy: Barry Gilbert beat Alan Knight 21-14; Laker Cup: Beryl Barraclough beat Chris laker 21-20; Barnett Cup: John Lucas beat Geoff Weller 19-16; Chairman’s Cup: Fred Crofts beat Ray Sutton 21-6; Afternoon Cup: Alan Knight beat Beryl Barraclough 3-1; Stemp Cup : Tony Saunder/Anita Colliety beat John Lucas/Fred Crofts 30-13; Slipper Cup: Chris laker/Anita Colliety beat Better & Geoff Weller 17-11; Valelands trophy: June Bennett/Fred Crofts/Alan Knight beat Tony Saunders/Barry Gilbert/Anita Colliety 17-11; Heritage Trophy: Geoff Weller beat Alan Night; Autumn Cup: Alan Readshaw beat Bettey Weller 24-16.