Horsham District bowls round-up

Horsham District bowls round-up
Horsham District bowls round-up

Southwater won three of the four triples on offer in their 61-52 defeat of Handcross.

Jean Meinertzhagen, Les Andrews and skip John Coghlan took 11 of 18 ends to be top rink with +9.

It was a similar story in a 94-72 defeat of West Hoathly as top rink went to Beryl Simmons, Sonia Leake, Lila Dawes and skip Ray Davis, who recovered from a slow start to finish +16.

The rinks were shared two each against Lindfield, as Anna Bishop, Brian French, Enid French and skip Lila Dawes won 17 of 21 ends to inspire an 80-65 overall win.

Horsham IBC

Mick Porter’s final match as captain after four years saw Horsham slip to defeat against Angel IBC, despite the top rink of Margaret Porter, Barry Hands, Barbara Gates and skip Sylvia Thomason (21-14).

The rinks were shared three apiece with Worthing IBC, but top rink Tony Wellstead and his team of Gwen Male, Barry Hands and Gladys Stocker (26-12) set up an overall 123-97 win.

Horsham IBC is hosting an open evening on Monday (September 17) from 6.30pm to 9pm in the hope of attracting new members for the winter season. All ages are welcome, from beginners to experienced bowlers, and free coaching is provided. The club’s junior section caters for age eight and over. For more information, call 01403 251260.

Short mat

Averil Budden, Dave Roberts and Dennis Budden won all five of their matches to win the Mannings Heath SMBC drawn triples Matthew Barcley Trophy with a sparkling performance in the round-robin format.


Some of the best finals seen in years were held at Pulborough BC last weekend. Results: Ladies Championship - J Gray beat K Piper 21-18; Men’s Championship - J Brown beat L Adsett 21-16; Handicap Two Wood - C Andrews beat club captain C Etherington 21-22 (Andrews only needed 21 due to his handicap); Diggle (71 shots) - C Etherington beat P Day 71-61; Novice Cup - M Gray beat J Piper 21-11; Novice Salver - M Gray beat J Day 21-18; The Handicap - I Salmon beat P Day 21-15; Pairs - A Wood and J Brown beat M Gray and I Salmon 30-14.

Horsham Park

Horsham Park lost three of the four rinks against Pippbrook as they went down to a 68-60 loss. David Spurr, Dawn Howarth and John Leadbetter (23-14) were Park’s sole winning rink, while Mike Westgarth’s rink lost a ten shot lead after tea.

There was more success against East Grinstead though, only losing one rink in a 90-80 win. Harry Smith, Peter Topper, Marie Davies and Angela Spurr were top rink with a +12 score. Ian Holmes’s rink won by +7 and Davis James’ rink overturned a three shot deficit with +5 on the final end.

There were mixed results for Park in the match at Popes Mead as they lost three of the four rinks in the hot conditions. Park’s top rink was Frank Thomas, supported by Brian Sherlock, Jim Covey and Angela Spurr who won by +9. Captain David Spurr had a very close game against Popes Mead’s Ash Plater losing by three overall in spite of being one up at end 19. Park’s other two went down heavily.

Two winning rinks against Crawley Town ensured Park ran out 73-57 winners. Top rink was David Peters, with Danny Cherriman, Anne Inkpin and Angela Spurr winning 28-19.


Alan Readshaw won Billingshurst’s Betty Weir Yardstick Competition with a 9-7 defeat of Stan Morgan in the six-end final. Alan and Stan had progressed from the group stages alongside Chris Laker and Barry Gilbert who went forward to play two six end semi finals with Alan and Stan being successful against Chris and Barry respectively.

And with the completion of the final competition of the 2012 season, Victor Ludorum Cup points could be calculated, rewarding the year’s best all-round performer. For the third year running the award went to Alan Knight who amassed 24 points, with Anita Colliety and Geoff Weller joint runners-up on 21 points.

Billingshurst got off to a poor start at Fittleworth and by halfway had slipped to ten shots in arrears. The second half went a little better for the visitors, but Billingshurst eventually lost by 18 shots as they went down 60-42. Top rink for Billingshurst went to Robin Clark, Hazel Sandford and John Bennett who recovered from eight adrift after nine ends to win by two shots.