Horsham Cycling chairman gets the better of former Tour de France man

Peter Delve provided the highlight of Horsham Cycling’s annual Open time trial when he finished ahead of former Tour de France rider and Yellow Jersey wearer Sean Yates.

A total of 67 entrants from as far afield as Coventry and Nowrwich competed in blustery conditions on the G10/57 Horsham – Crawley course on Saturday morning. The fastest rider overall was Peter Tadros of the In Gear RT who recorded a blistering time of 20:07, nearly an average speed of 30mph.

The pick of the Horsham riders was Keither Carter, who clocked 22mins 37secs, while other times were: Warren Higgins 22:44, Jon Fry 23:23, Keith Shuttlewood 23:27, Peter Delve 24:41, Jason Baverstock 24:45 and Brian Flint 26:55. Delve’s claim to have beten Yates came in the Veterans section. Peter’s plus time was 6:04 for his age standard for second place behind Geoff Smith of Eastbourne Rovers with a plus of 6:21. Sean Yates was third with a plus of 5:39.

The following Tuesday saw the Club’s Evening TT Series continue on the same course. Fastest rider was Keith Carter who recorded a season’s best time of 21:59. Second was Warren Higgins in 22:15 and Simon Mitchell was third in a new personal best time of 22:20. Mitchell has now improved his 10-mile time by more than three minutes since his first TT last year. The evening set another new record for the Club with a total of eight riders beating 24 minutes – the most ever in a Club event. New PBs were also recorded by Club Chairman Delve (23:44) and Jason Baverstock (23:59).

On Sunday morning Jon Fry, Mitchell and Stewart Papworth took part in a Crawley Wheelers 25 mile event. Fry recorded a season’s best time of 1:00:43, Mitchell clocked 1:01:31 for new PB and Papworth recorded 1:06:57. Crawley’s Rupert Robinson was fastest in 58:06.