Emin, 18, smashes Horsham Cycling junior record by more than a minute

Emin Akbay. the new Junior Record Holder for HC 10 mile Time Trial.
Emin Akbay. the new Junior Record Holder for HC 10 mile Time Trial.
Share this article

Emin Akbay is Horsham Cycling’s new Junior 10-mile Time Trial record holder following a tremendous few weeks which has seen him smash the previous best by more than a minute.

The 18-year-old sprinted home in 22mins 45secs on a non Horsham Cycling event having earlier reduced the previous record, set in 2010, to 23.01 on a HC time trial evening.

The Collyer’s pupil averaged speeds of 26mph on the Horsham to Crawley dual carriageway course. Emin joined HC in September 2013 and has been riding superby in the top Sunday riding group. He said: “I was inspired to take up cycling after watching the men’s and women’s 2012 Olympic road races pass through Dorking. “I’m thrilled to achieve this record and now have my sights set on breaking the Junior HC record on the 14-mile Faygate-Rusper course and winning the Junior Trophy. I’ve had lots of encouragement from members and help with racing bikes.”

Personal Bests were also achieved on the 10-mile course by Matt Andrews 22:18, Tim Peters 23:08, Ian Phillips 23:51, Alan Dolan 24:16, Mike Ayres 25:12, Gary Noble-Smith 25:17, Rebecca O’Hara 27:23 and Ray Watson 27:41.

On the 14 mile Faygate-Rusper circuit, PBs were recorded by Alan Dolan 40:29, Emin Akbay 41:03, Matt Pateman 41:21, Gary Noble-Smith 41:53 and Rebecca O’Hara 44:13. Approaching halfway in this year’s Time Trial programme, Rebecca O’Hara, Jon Fry, Keith Shuttlewood and Emin Akbay set the pace in the five main trophies.

On Saturday HC held their annual Open Time Trial 10-mile event on the dual carriageway course. Organised by Stewart Forbes with 21 members assisting from time recording to marshalling and refreshments afterwards, 52 entrants competed for prize money of £200.

Conall Yates, InGear Quickvit Trainsharp RT, a younger brother of former Tour de France star Sean Yates, won in 20mins 18secs, repeating his success of 2011. Fastest lady was Miss Tamar Vanderhass, Lewis Wanderers CC, at 23:46. Ray Dare, Kingston Phoenix RC, on his 88th birthday, won the Veterans in 27.57, plus 7.38 inside the standard for his age. InGear Quickvit Trainsharp RT took the team prize with Horsham Cycling third. In the Juniors Theo Yates came second behind Emin Akbay.

The club is now in its ninth year and boasts 171 members providing a wide range of activities. More information at www.horshamcycling.co.uk