Dominant performance from Roffey players at darts finals night

editorial image

The season’s finale at Roffey Social & Sports Club saw the evening dominated by the home club’s B team.

The Finals Night began with Roffey’s Alan Wyatt beating Horsham C&SC’s Mick Dutka to win the Secretaries trophy, and next up Dan Waller and Cliff Prior were pushed to the limit before winning the Doubles 2-1 against Railway pair Ian Homewood and John Dawes.

Mick Dutka returned to the stage in the Captain’s Cup and avenged his earlier defeat by beating holder Robbie Massey of Roffey Social & Sports Club C 2-0.

The Trebles brought great vocal support from the supporters of Nick Dunn, Drew Smallwood and Mark Pavlovic of Roffey Cricket Club who were up against local rivals from Roffey Club B: Alan Wyatt, Ron Clarke and Terry Thornton who proved too strong by winning 2-0.

The Victory Cup final between the league’s top two teams, champions Roffey Club B and runners-up The Railway was a one-sided affair with Roffey brushing aside the Railwaymen 5-0 with Tony Peters hitting the night’s highest finish, 120.

The Ladies Singles final was a very close contest with Roffey Club B’s Crystal Woodrow hitting the winning double to beat defending champion Lisa Jestico from HFC@The Norfolk 2-1.

The night’s final match saw Roffey’s Alan Wyatt and Cliff Prior battle it out for the men’s singles title, where Cliff turned on the style and comfortably won 2-0.

The league’s other awards were:

Most 180s: Dan Waller (Roffey). Most wins Division 2: Nick Dunn (Roffey CC). Most wins Division 1: Alan Wyatt and Dan Waller. Highest finish of season: Andy Mason with 155. Ian Homewood and Vanessa Osgood earlier beat Billingshurst pair Tom Knight and Sandy Williams to win the Mixed Doubles Trophy.