Horsham see Sussex title slip from their grasp

HASTINGS Priory have won the Sussex Premier League for the first time since 2003 and in doing so won the Sussex League for the seventh time in their history.

Priory needed nothing less than victory at Horsham to win the title and they did this in style by six wickets.

Pulborough and Three Bridges are relegated with Bridges bottom after defeat at Pulborough on Saturday.

Hastings skipper Jason Finch led from the front at Horsham as he took 6 for 31 in his last game before retiring from League cricket.

In a Horsham total of 177 all out Owain Jones made 74 and Sam Attfield 34.

Sussex professionals Kirk Wernars and Matt Machan played their part as Hastings reached 178 for 4, Wernars hitting 72 and Machan 39, Finch completed a good day with 35 as Hastings won for the 11th time this season.

Mark Tomsett led Eastbourne to a four wicket win at East Grinstead in making 65 in a winning score of 129 for 6.

Earlier Grinstead were dismissed for 125 as Ed Giddins grabbed 4 for 39 and Stuart Pulford 4 for 28. Ian Sturmer was top scorer, he made just 28.

Chichester ended a disappointing season on a high by beating Brighton and Hove by six wickets at Priory Park.

Irishman Craig Young cracked 127 and Matt Green made 60 as Brighton reached 268 all out from 51.1 overs, Richard Browning taking 7 for 37.

Aussie Matt Gregory then made a massive 162 not out and Justin Scott 49 to fire Chichester home at 272 for 4, Guy Williamson took 2 for 68.

Last year’s champions Preston Nomads have finished third this season after a disappointing second half of the season.

They lost their final game at Roffey by 13 runs after the home side had posted 239 for 9 declared with 78 from Theo Rivers and 44 from Chris Plaister.

Carl Simon took 3 for 40 and Stuart Faith 2 for 46.

Nomads were then bowled out for 226 despite 71 from Ollie Gatting and 42 from Luke Schildkamp.

For Roffey Stuart Whittingham took 4 for 56 and Luke Barnard 4 for 65.

The bottom two clubs, both already relegated, met at Pulborough where Three Bridges tumbled to defeat by 162 runs to finish bottom.

Pulborough posted a massive 308 for 6 declared with 120 not out from Tom Crump and 50 from Saj Chauhuri. For Bridges there were two wickets each for Hisam-ul-Haq and Jigga Parekh.

The visitors them tumbled to 146 all out with Joe Cook top scorer, he made 30 as four Pulborough bowlers each took two wickets.

THERE was some nail biting in Division Two with Glynde one wicket short of squeezing above Bexhill into the promotion places.

Four hours earlier there was some controversy when a tactical declaration by Worthing ensured that Bexhill could not finish above them as the teams met at the Polegrove.

The Worthing batsmen were out of touch and seemingly nervous against Bexhill at The Polegrove and only veteran Tim Dunn made double figures (16) before skipper Michael Gould declared at 65 for 9 which meant a maximum of 28 points were available to their hosts and Worthing could not be overtaken.

Chris Topp took 3 for 7 and Aussie Mark Steketee 2 for 14 and then youngsters Malcolm Johnson (30 not out) and Callum Guest (20 not out) took the home side to victory at 69 without loss from 10.2 overs.

The result meant Glynde needed to beat Haywards Heath to win the League and go up with Worthing to leave Bexhill missing out.

It was desperately close at Glynde as the visitors had to play out the last five balls to earn a draw and leave their hosts to play again in Division Two again next season.

Glynde made a challenging 245 for 8 declared with 48 from Stuart Mouland and 41 from Joe Adams as Dan Strange grabbed 4 for 66 for the visitors.

Haywards Heath reached 230 for 9 in a nail biting finish as 18 year-old Jethro Menzies hit 61 and Tom Dowdall made 43, Golynde had five balls at the last man.

There were two wickets each for Dale Tranter, Joe Adams, Dominic Shepheard and George Hobden.

Goring started the day with a faint chance of promotion but they crashed to a 125 run defeat at Ifield which ensured the home side just avoided relegation.

Ifield made 172 all out after being put in with 53 from Jay Baldwin.

Goring them crashed to just 47 all out as Russell Jacob took 4 for 19 and Paul Clifford 4 for 0.

Lewes Priory finished bottom and will play regional division three cricket next season following a 34 run defeat at St.James’s.

The home side declared at 208/8 with 90 from Raza Ali as Imran Khan took 4 for 34.

In reply Lewes were dismissed for 174.

The remaining game saw some encouragement from a poor season for Stirlands who won a high scoring game at Cuckfield by two wickets.

The home side made 283 for 8 declared with 112 from Brook Hatwell and 63 from Tom Mole as Danny Cox took 3 for 95.

The visitors chased well and won at 289 with a sensational innings from 17 year-old Nick Gubbins who made 199 not out from just 136 balls !

For Cuckfield Nick Patterson took 5 for 70 and Stirlands finished just 2 points sort of safety.

CHAMPIONS Findon suffered a reverse to sign off in Division 3 West.

They were bowled out 130 in 36 overs. Jamie Thompson took 4 for 26 from 11 overs and 17 year old Will Searle, making his 1st team debut, took 4 for 29 from 8 overs.

Middleton responded with 131 for 3 from 23.2 overs. Chris Spedding scoring 66 from 48 balls. Middleton finish in 4th place.

Bognor had already assured themselves of the runners up position and they finished the season with a high scoring draw at Steyning who landed in 5th place.

Bognor made 253-5 with Sussex Development youngster Rob Willway hitting 107 not out and Luke Seward 55. In reply Steyning scored 244-7. Chris McPherson scored 114 and Hywel Jones 92. Rob Willway bagged 5-54 to complete a fine all round performance. Pagham, having occupied bottom place for much of the season, ensured their survival beating Slinfold by four wickets.

Slinfold’s score of 135 all out was largely due to Ethan Ansell’s 41 while Mike Hales took 4-33. Graham Findlayson’s 56 for Pagham ended any lingering fears of relegation and they ended up in 7th whilst Slinfold finished 9th.

Henfield played host to Littlehampton with both sides needing few points to ensure they stayed up.

Both needs were comfortably met as Littlehampton made 198 with Michael Askew hitting 55, Damon Earp countering with 4-37. Henfield got home by three wickets thanks mainly to Craig Scott’s 74. They finished 6th and 8th respectively.

Arundel became the first club to be relegated from Division 3 West. They will be replaced next season by West Sussex Invitation League winners Wisborough Green.

They made a valiant effort to retain their County League status however and lost by just 1 wicket at Billingshurst.

Agonisingly for them a win would have kept them up. They chose to bat at Billingshurst and declared on 248-8 from 51 overs.

Rohan Ardley’s 64 giving them a good score to defend while Andy Welfare took a creditable 5-45.

Billingshurst however got home in the extra overs gained from the declaration as Scott Stratton 75 and Toby Loxley 55 amongst the runs. Neil Chitty’s 5-63 was eventually in vain.