Call to expand Horsham’s Mirfield Cup

Mirfield Cup winners Billingshurst CC
Mirfield Cup winners Billingshurst CC
Share this article

Organisers of the Mirfield Cup want to expand next year’s competition to include more Horsham district villages.

Founded by late Horsham Cricket Club president Dr John Dew more than 50 years ago, the Mirfield Cup, played midweek, with innings of 15 eight ball overs is considered locally as one of the fore-runners to T20 cricket.

Billingshurst, who beat Horsham Trinity in this year’s final on Tuesday night, Roffey, Southwater and Slinfold are among the regular competitors, but organisers want to spread the net.

Chris Shambrook, who took on organising duties this summer, said: “I would really like to get some of the other villages involved, the likes of Broadbridge Heath, West Chiltington and Barns Green, we are looking for more entrants.”

Billingshurst proved too strong for West Sussex Invitation League side Trinity in Tuesday’s final - the two sides met after Southwater and Slinfold agreed to surrender their semi-final spots to allow the two group winners to play.

Opener Carleon Brome proved the difference, he scored a belligerant 51 - despite almost being run out first ball - before Danushka Mitipolaraachchi added 44 in Hurst’s imposing total of 159-4.

Trinity’s reply stuttered at first as they were reduced to 10-2 off four overs. For Billingshurst, Alex Lowther took two wickets and Toby Loxley 2-11. Steve Cox hit some lusty blows and Matt Miles a towering six late on, but Trinity came up short on 107-9.