Two recognised from Horsham district in Queen’s Birthday Honours


Two people from the Horsham district have been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Horsham’s Andrew Campbell Ross, formerly chief executive of The Children’s Trust. has received an OBE for services to Children.

Mrs Sara Ella Bowers, from Steyning, has received a BEM for services to the community in Steyning.

Timothy Charles Hemsley, a sergeant with Sussex Police, has been made an MBE for services to Policing and Counter-Terrorism.

The full list from Sussex is as follows:


Gregory Michael Gerard Martin. Executive head, Durand Academy, London Borough of Lambeth. For services to Education. (Rotherfield, East Sussex)



Allan John Bowman. Chair, Social Care Institute for Excellence. For services to Social Care. (Hove, East Sussex)

Ms Christine Farnish. For services to Financial Services and Consumer Affairs. (Hove, East Sussex)

Alban Francis Xavier Green. Chief executive, Leigh Academies Trust, Kent. For services to Education. (Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex)

Peter Anthony Griffiths. Formerly chairman, Queen Victoria Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Healthcare. (Wadhurst, East Sussex)

Malcolm Gareth Hayday. Chief executive Officer and Founder, Charity Bank. For services to charities and Social Enterprise. (Mayfield, East Sussex)

Professor James Ferguson Skea, OBE. Professor of Sustainable Energy, Centre for Environmental Policy, Imperial College London. For services to Sustainable Energy. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Professor Jeremy Daniel McKendrick Watson. Director, Global Research, Arup. For services to Engineering. (Worthing, West Sussex)


Miss Georgina Elizabeth Balmforth. Grade 6, head of Protective Security Section, Office for Security and Counter Terrorism, Home Office. For services to Protective Security. (Burgess Hill, West Sussex)

Mrs Susan Jane Bernhauser. Formerly Dean of Human and Health Sciences, University of Huddersfield. For services to Nursing. (Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex)

Ms Julia Mary Bunting Thring. Formerly Team Leader, AIDS and Reproductive Health, Department for International Development. For services to supporting Reproductive Health in Developing Countries. (Haywards Heath, West Sussex)

Mrs Katherine Louise Mosse. Author and Co-founder, the Women’s Prize for Fiction. For services to Literature. (Chichester, West Sussex)

Andrew Campbell Ross. Formerly chief executive, The Children’s Trust. For services to Children. (Horsham, West Sussex)


Professor Subrata Sekhar Banerjee. Professor of Mental Health and Ageing, Brighton and Sussex Medical School, University of Sussex. For services to People with Dementia. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Gary Foster Barnes. Carer and Adoptive Parent, West Sussex. For services to Children. (Ferring, West Sussex)

Mrs Judith Barnes. Foster Carer and Adoptive Parent, West Sussex. For services to Children. (Ferring, West Sussex)

Peter Bernard Boyse. For services to the Hospice Movement and to the community in Lewes, East Sussex. (Lewes, East Sussex)

Mrs Freda Kathleen Bussey. Founder, Ashcombe Volleyball Club. For services to Volleyball. (Worthing, West Sussex)

Trevor John Gamble. Founder, Construction Plant Competence Scheme. For services to Training, Health and Safety in Construction. (Worthing, West Sussex)

Timothy Charles Hemsley. Sergeant, Sussex Police. For services to Policing and Counter-Terrorism. (London)

Richard Holste. Chair of Corporation, Sussex Downs College. For services to Further Education. (Eastbourne, East Sussex)

Mrs Judith Susan Ironside. Founder and Executive director, UK Jewish Film. For services to Drama. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Gareth Barrington Owen Rees Jones. Programme manager, International Government Defence and Support Services, KBR. For services to the Armed Forces. (Littlehampton, West Sussex)

Mrs Susan Logan. Foster Carer, East Sussex County Council. For services to Children and Families. (Newhaven, East Sussex)

Ms Maggie Morgan. Language Teacher, St. Pauls Nursery and Primary School, Brighton and Hove. For services to Education. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Raymond George Penny. Custodian, Prime Minister’s Office, 10 Downing Street. For services to the Prime Minister’s Office and charitable services to Naomi House and Jack’s Place in Hampshire. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Mrs Ann Ward. For services to the Chichester Diocesan Association for Family Support Work, Sussex. (Burgess Hill, West Sussex)

John William Wright. Volunteer, Crawley Neighbourhood Watch, Sussex. For services to Neighbourhood Watch and the community in Crawley. (Crawley, West Sussex)



Philip Montague Ayers, JP. Managing director, Cuckmere Community Bus. For services to Transport. (Polegate, East Sussex)

Mrs Anne Penelope Bickmore. For charitable services through the abcfund in East Sussex. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Mrs Sara Ella Bowers. For services to the community in Steyning, West Sussex. (Steyning, West Sussex)

Edward Louis Glyn Hoare. Founder and Musical director Wadhurst Brass Band. For services to Music. (Wadhurst, East Sussex)

John Robert Rudkin. Youth Worker, Tangmere Youth Club, Chichester. For services to Young People. (Bognor Regis, West Sussex)

Michael Stefan Wood. For services to Music in Burgess Hill, West Sussex. (Burgess Hill, West Sussex)