Southwater county councillor is chairman of new Police Panel

Brad Watson OBE.
Brad Watson OBE.

Southwater and Nuthurst county councillor Brad Watson OBE was elected chairman of the Sussex Police and Crime Panel at its first meeting on Monday (November 26).

The Panel heard from newly elected Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC), Katy Bourne.

The Panel is made up of councillors from each of the 15 local authorities in East and West Sussex, and Brighton and Hove, plus two independent members.

Mr Watson was the former chairman of the Shadow panel.

East Sussex County Councillor David Elkin was elected as Vice Chair.

The Panel also confirmed the co-option of Graham Hill and Sandra Prail as independent members.

Police and Crime Commissioner Katy Bourne, who officially took up her post on Thursday November 22, outlined her vision for the role and took questions from members of the Panel.

“Scrutinising the Police and Crime Commissioner’s plans will be a key role of the Sussex Police and Crime Panel, including exercising some control over the amount the Commissioner wants to raise from council tax.”

Panel Members also agreed how they would handle complaints against the PCC, and discussed their role in confirming senior appointments within the Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner.

Mr Watson said: “At this historic first formal meeting of the Police and Crime Panel. I want to thank members for their support and confidence.

We will create an effective and dedicated panel, which will hold the Police and Crime Commissioner to account for her decisions, on behalf of the residents of Sussex.”

The Panel next meets on January 11. Meetings are webcast and open to the public, and take place at East Sussex County Council in County Hall, Lewes.