ELECTIONS: Conservatives hold Cowfold ward

editorial image

The Conservative Party have held onto the Horsham District Council ward of Cowfold, Shermanbury and West Grinstead.

The by-election was held in Cowfold, Shermanbury and West Grinstead after the resignation of Andrew Dunlop and in Chantry following the resignation of Chris Mason.

Roger Clarke, also a West Grinstead Parish Councillor, won the Cowfold, Shermandbury and West Grinstead seat for the Conservative Party with 874 votes against the Liberal Democrat’s 243 votes for their candidate Andrew Purches.

Shortly after winning the seat Mr Clarke said: “I’m absolutely delighted. This is my first time I’ve sat for election and I’ve been a member of the Conservative Party for 50 years.”

In Chantry, also the ward where leader of the council Ray Dawe holds a seat, Conservative Party member Diana van der Klugt won.

She received

Mrs van der Klugt said: “I’m very pleased to have won and I will be working very hard to represent the electorate.”

“She said that one of the key issues voters talked to her about on the doorstep was development in Storrington.”

The composition of Horsham District Council is now: Conservatives – 33 councillors; Liberal Democrats – eight councillors; Independents – two councillors; UKIP one councillor.