County Council elections nominations announced

PA Wire/Press Association image
PA Wire/Press Association image

More than 300 candidates will be contesting the West Sussex County Council elections on Thursday, May 2.

Nominations closed last Friday for all 71 county divisions, and were published today (Monday April 8).

The current constitution of the council is – Conservatives 48, Liberal Democrats 18, Labour 3, one Independent and one UKIP.

A detailed guide to the election, including the full list of nominations, can be found by following a link from the front page of

Counting of the votes will take place on Friday, May 3 and results will be announced during the day.

In the Horsham District the following County Council seats are being contested by these candidates:


Conservative: Amanda Jane Jupp

Labour: Keith Thomas Maslin

Liberal Democrats: Gillian Jessica Knight

UKIP: David Duke

Bramber Castle:

Conservative: David Howard Barling

Labour: Adrian Maxwell Norridge

Liberal Democrats: Jessica Beatrice Thea Sproxton-Miller

UKIP: Mike Grizaard


Conservative: Lionel Harvey Barnard

Labour: Janet Miller

Liberal Democrats: Andrew Gregory Purches

UKIP: Liz Wallace


Conservative: Peter Charles Catchpole

Labour: Sheila Marie Chapman

Liberal Democrats: Leonard John Christopher Crosbie

UKIP: Sally Wilkins

Horsham Hurst:

Conservative: Keith John Bridgeman

Labour: Carol Hayton

Liberal Democrats: Nigel Peter Stewart Dennis

UKIP: Claire Anne Bridgewell

Horsham Riverside:

Conservative: David Lawrence Scozzafava

Labour: David Vaughan Hide

Liberal Democrats: Morwen Elizabeth Millson

Peace Party – Non-Violence Justice, Environment: Jim Duggan

UKIP: Douglas Rands

Horsham Tanbridge & Broadbridge Heath:

Conservative: Ronald William Vimpany

Labour: Raymond Edward Chapman

Liberal Democrats: David Paul Sheldon

UKIP: Martin Bridewell


Conservative: Pat Arculus

Independent: Tom Williams

Labour: Antony Bignell

Liberal Democrats: Rosalyn Deedman

UKIP: John Richard Wallace


Conservative: Jim Rae

Labour: George Murrell

Liberal Democrats: Warwick John Hellawell

UKIP: Mike Rowlands

Southwater & Nuthurst:

Conservative: Brad Watson

Labour: Jacqueline Little

Liberal Democrats: Peter John Stainton

UKIP: Stuart Aldridge


Conservative: Frank Tristram Wilkinson

Liberal Democrats: Nick Hopkinson

UKIP: Graham Croft-Smith

Warnham & Rusper:

Conservative: Mick Hodgson

Liberal Democrats: Ian Robert Shepherd

UKIP: Geoff Stevens