Horsham District Council carves up cabinet posts

A NEW list of councillor responsibilities has been agreed as part of the annual Horsham District Council meeting.

The responsibilities, which were put into effect on Wednesday May 18 at 7pm, are outlined below:

The leader of the council is Robert Nye (Con, Itchingfield, Slinfold, Warnham). The leader has responsibility for communications, District Plan and strategic economic development.

Cabinet member for living and working communities is Ian Howard (Con, Southwater). The portfolio now has functions with in strategic planning, affordable housing, development management, community engagement and voluntary sector partnership.

The new cabinet member for efficiency and taxation is Ray Dawe (Con, Chantry), his remit includes financial services, ICT and business services, property services and performance.

The council welcomes a new cabinet member for arts, heritage and leisure, Jonathan Chowen (Con, Cowfold, Shermanbury and West Grinstead).

Cabinet member for the environment is Andrew Baldwin (Con, Holbrook East) with responsibility for waste collection, recycling, cleansing environment and sustainability.

The cabinet member for a safer and healthier district is Roger Arthur (Con, Chanctonbury). He has a remit including community development, street scene wardens, housing services, public health and licensing and building control.

Robert Paterson (Con, Pulborough and Coldwaltham) is the cabinet member for the local economy with responsibility for local business development and car parking.

What do you think of the new cabinet members? Leave your comments below or contact the news room by emailing ct.news@sussexnewspapers.co.uk.