Spring for garden enthusiasts

Lynda Ashby and Derek Santer, the current and previous chairman.
Lynda Ashby and Derek Santer, the current and previous chairman.

GARDEN and plant enthusiasts brought their finest work for exhibition at the Horsham Horticultural Society’s Spring Show on Saturday March 31.

Contestants entered their flowers and cuttings for a variety of awards, at North Heath Hall on St Mark’s Lane, from daffodils and potted plants, to cacti and spring flowers, as well as additional categories in cooking and handicraft.

Sue McMahon, from Smithbarn, was delighted to be crowned overall winner and thanked the committee for their encouragement and support.

“I was surprised but also delighted to win several cups,” she said. “I’d really like to thanks all the members of the committee for encouraging me to enter.”

She added: “It seems that the many hours in the kitchen and the garden have at last paid off.”

The day also witnessed a passing of the torch as retiring chairman Derek Santer made way for new chairman Lynda Ashby.

Mrs Ashby said: “I feel the society could not have had a more loyal and caring chairman for the last 14 years than Derek. Derek has worked tirelessly for the society, some of which has been an extremely difficult time for him, but he has kept on resolutely having the society’s best interest at heart.

“Thankfully Derek will still be on the committee and hopefully will be on hand to give advice, especially to me, in what will be a challenging year but one I’m looking forward to enormously.”

The full list of the winners is: Geoffrey Kirk (Stanley Cup), Paul Dalby (Irene Crackston Cup, Spring Floral Cup), Sue McMahon (Ball Cup, Domestic Cup, Weald Cup), Molly Gould (Secretary’s Cup). Margaret Rogers (Woods Mill Cup) and Hazel Bockh (Butcher’s Trophy, Jubilee Cup).

The society’s summer show will be held at the same location on Saturday August 18 and will focus on gardening in drought conditions.

For more information visit www.horshamhorticulturalsociety.co.uk