Collyer’s pupils rewarded for sporting achievements

Collyer's Netball Team has been named Team of the Year
Collyer's Netball Team has been named Team of the Year

At the Annual Sports Awards Ceremony, successful Collyer’s students have been rewarded for their 2015/16 achievements at the college.

The Duckering Hall event was attended by students, teachers and other members of the Collyer’s community.

John Burroughs, head of Collyer’s Sport Academy, said: “Congratulations to all the players and coaches who have helped make this season so successful. This year Collyer’s took part in a record 180 competitive fixtures!”

During 2015/16 Collyer’s teams won numerous honours across a range of sports. These included a Surrey Sixth Form U19 League Championship title for men’s rugby, a Sussex U19 League Championship title for netball, while the men’s football won the Sussex U19 1st Division League Championship.

The Most Improved Player (MIP) for women’s hockey prize went to Eve Catterall, while Katherine Hollands was delighted to pick up Player of the Year (POY) award. In men’s hockey, Noah Chinn (POY) and Adam Lord (MIP) came away with the honours, while Basketball’s POY was awarded to Ethan Belfield, with the MIP prize won by Bobby Au. Women’s football POY was picked up by Amber Sherwood, with Megan Hannah winning the MIP prize. Ed Kear (first team) and Matt Blogg (second team) walked away with the POY men’s football prizes; MIP awards went to Sean O’Kane (first team) and Glenn Richardson (second team). In netball, the MIP prizes were awarded to Tara Rawson (first team) and Eloise Webber (second team); POY prizes were presented to Holly Bown (first team) and Erica Nutbrown (second team).The women’s rugby POY award went to Katie Owens, while Kirsten Reid picked up the MIP award. The men’s rugby MIP award went to Jacob Donovan and Owain Mcloughlin was honoured to receive the POY prize.

The prizes were announced by the team of specialist coaches at Collyer’s: Dominic Evans (basketball), Brannon O’Neil and Laura Carruthers (football), Michelle Pekham (netball) and Clayton Saunders (rugby). Clayton Saunders also presented prizes to the women’s rugby team on behalf of their coach, Sian Lewis.

The Team of the Year Award went to the outstanding Netball first team.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be among the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make our website your homepage at

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @wscountytimes

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends – so they don’t miss out!

The County Times – always the first with your local news.

Be part of it.