Eighth Collywood celebrates success

Best A2 Film winners Jenny Colebourn, Max Newall, Hannah Baxter-Eve and Grace Littler SUS-140805-161515001
Best A2 Film winners Jenny Colebourn, Max Newall, Hannah Baxter-Eve and Grace Littler SUS-140805-161515001
Have your say

Last week, the eighth annual Collywood Film and Television Awards Ceremony at The Capital Arts Centre in Horsham celebrated the achievements of Collyer’s most skilled and creative Media and Film Studies students.

Over 200 students, friends and family attended the red carpet evening, which included a paparazzi photo call and a range of prizes presented by teachers and other college luminaries.

For the first time, the event was hosted by two students: Hannah Baxter-Eve and George Grammer-Taylor, who did a superb job hosting a lively and entertaining evening. Categories included ‘Best A2 Film’, ‘Best Performance’ and the ‘People’s Choice’ award.

Jonathan Nunns, Subject Leader for Media Studies, commented: “Incredible work from amazingly committed and creative students. Every year I think it can’t get any better and then it does! I also thought Hannah Baxter-Eve and George Grammer-Taylor did a really confident job hosting the awards. Well done to them and all of our students for making their teachers so proud and happy tonight.”

During a glitzy night of high drama, the ‘Best A2 Film’ was won by Hannah Baxter-Eve, Jenny Colebourn, Grace Littler and Max Newall for their production of “La Nenuphar”, while ‘Best A2 Film Script’ was awarded to Lydia Railton for “The Rosey Lee Ripper”. ‘Best Performance’ went to stars of the future, Will Chase, Ed Goacher and Matt Uttley (“What Makes You Beautiful”). ‘Best A2 Media Audio Visual’ prize, for “Turned”, was awarded to Holly Stinton, James West and Josh Spiers. Rachel North (Guru Clothing and Makeup – Ad Campaign) won ‘Best A2 Media Print & Web’ and Steph Burley, Georgia Dunlavey and Connor Cresswell were thrilled to walk away with ‘Best AS Film’ for “Don’t let the lights go out”; while ‘Best Editing’ went to Abbi Moir, Ryan Jordan, Taylor Cox for “The Host”. ‘Best Cinematography’ was awarded to Ollie Giles for “Cruse”. ‘Best AS Media Magazine’ went to Elliot Godden for “Session” and ‘Best AS Media Music Video’ was awarded to Jack Cox, Connor Little and Harry Masih.

The highly anticipated ‘People’s Choice’ award, voted for by the Collyer’s public, was won by Lucy Tebb, Elliot Godden, Alice Monk and Elliot Boyd for their stunning “Snapback and Calculators”.

Finally, the ‘Best Commissioned Project’ went to the thought provoking Care for the Wild “How Much Does a Gap Year Really Cost?” by Eleanor Smith, Ben Wilton, Ollie Giles, Liam Ruff and James West.

Collyer’s Principal, Dr Jackie Johnston was impressed: “We are hugely grateful to the Capitol Arts Centre team, who have again worked wonders with our selfless media and film teachers to put on yet another superb ceremony at this brilliant venue. We have a very strong Faculty for Arts and Communication and this event has been a fantastic opportunity for our creative students to showcase their outstandingly creative work.”

Report contributed by Collyer’s. Pictures by Rob Legg, A-level photography student .