A historic steam locomotive built in Brighton more than 130 years ago will be returning to its birthplace in celebration of the Brighton Modelworld Exhibition.
It will be the first time in more than 50 years that members of the public have been able to see The London Brighton & South Coast Railway’s Terrier class locomotive number 682 which was built at the huge Brighton Locomotive Works in August 1880.
It was initially given a different name and paint job, but was repainted in the dark brown known as umber and renamed as Loco Dept Brighton Works in February 1920 following a refit.
Designed by renowned locomotive engineer William Stroudley, the locomotive will be taken by lorry to the site of the works, which is where the station car park and the Jury’s Inn Hotel now stand on what is appropriately named Stroudley Road, before appearing as the star attraction outside the Brighton Modelworld Exhibition at the Brighton Centre from today February 24 to Sunday, February 26.
Chris English, organiser of The Brighton Modelworld Exhibition, said: “We are all incredibly excited about bringing this stunning engine back to its birthplace. It is thought to have been over half a century since the engine was last seen by the public so it will be a momentous occasion for all involved and for any train lover or Brighton resident.
“The 2012 exhibition is set to be one our biggest to date and we are hoping that with such a varied variety of models from a full size Battle of Britain Spitfire, Dr Who’s Daleks, an Airfix model workshop, acrobatic model flying displays to steam engines, model boats and Hornby train sets, it will appeal to all the family for a great day out.”